Aloe Vera, Not Just a Pretty Plant…

Aloe vera is one of the most popular plants around! Aloe vera can now be found on our Fruit and Vegetable displays, and is sold either as cut leaves or in organic pots like aromatic plants. This attractive succulent with its long pointed leaves grows naturally in hot, arid climates and is cultivated nowadays for its exceptional nutritional and dermatological properties.

It’s very decorative too – and in a pot will add a modern touch to your home. Also easy to grow, Aloe vera is considered to be a depolluting plant!

Only use the gel

Firstly, it must be pointed out that whether you’re using aloe vera internally or externally, what you’re after is its precious pulp: a sort of gel found inside the leaves. You must remove the green and yellow parts as they are inedible.

This gel contains lots of nutrients: vitamins, minerals, essential amino acids, carbs, enzymes, etc. It has been used for millennia because of its huge potential to boost vitality and detoxify the body, but it can also be applied externally to heal small wounds. It is widely used in cosmetics because of its well-known intense moisturizing and anti-ageing effects.

How and why?

To extract the gel from a leaf, use the blade of a knife to remove the outer layer (the green skin and yellow bit). Remove the gel and wash it before you use it. You can store the gel frozen as it will quickly oxidise.

SOS minor sores – you can apply it directly to the skin. It provides rapid relief for small wounds: burns, spots and insect bites. If you’re in a hurry, split the leaf open horizontally and apply it gel side to the skin.

Used in cosmetics, the gel is combined with honey, for example, to become a revitalising and soothing face mask.

To detox your body, improve the health of your digestive system and regulate intestinal transit, you can take a tablespoonful of gel for a few days. Since it is rather bitter, you can blend it with fruit juice, honey and yoghurt. Remove 2 cm from the leaf and use the blade of a knife to scrape out the gel and then wash it.

_________________________________________________________________________

Ingredients to make aloe vera juice:

1 aloe vera leaf section, 1 lemon, honey to taste, 1 litre spring water

Only remove the gel – two tablespoonfuls – add the lemon juice, honey and a little water and blend. Then add the rest of the spring water. Bottle and drink throughout the day as a detox treatment over several days.

Thank you Mother Nature!

L’Aloe vera, non seulement une belle plante…

C’est l’une des plantes vertes tendance ! On la trouve aujourd’hui sur nos étals des Fruits et Légumes, sous forme de tiges coupées ou en pots Bio telles les plantes aromatiques. Cette jolie succulente aux longues feuilles pointues qui pousse naturellement dans les régions chaudes et arides est à présent cultivée pour ses propriétés nutritives et dermatologiques exceptionnelles.

Très décorative, en pot, elle apporte une touche très moderne à votre intérieur. C’est également une plante facile à cultiver aux vertus dépolluantes !

Le gel uniquement

Tout d’abord, on retient que, que ce soit pour un usage interne ou externe, ce qui est précieux, c’est sa pulpe, sorte de gel à l’intérieur des feuilles. Les parties vertes et jaunes doivent absolument être enlevées, car non comestibles.

Ce gel est très riche en nutriments : vitamines, minéraux, acides aminés essentiels, glucides, enzymes… Il est utilisé depuis des millénaires pour son énorme potentiel qui favorise la vitalité, détoxifie le corps, mais aussi, en usage externe, pour soigner les petites blessures. En cosmétique, il est reconnu pour son intense pouvoir hydratant et son action anti-âge. 

Comment et pourquoi ?

Pour extraire le gel d’une feuille, avec le tranchant d’un couteau, retirer la couche externe (peau verte et partie jaune). Prélever le gel et le laver avant son utilisation. Il peut se surgeler, car il s’oxyde rapidement.

SOS bobos, en application directe avec la peau. Il soulage rapidement les petites blessures : brûlures, boutons, piqûres d’insectes. Si vous êtes pressés, ouvrir la feuille en 2 dans le sens de l’épaisseur et l’appliquer côté gel.

En cosmétique, le gel, mixé en mélange avec du miel, par exemple, devient un masque régénérant et adoucissant.

Pour se détoxifier, pour le bien-être du système digestif et pour réguler le transit, on peut prendre, durant quelques jours, une cuillère à soupe de gel mixé dans un jus de fruit, du miel ou encore dans un yaourt, car le gel est plutôt amer. Prélever 2 cm de la tige, récupérer le gel avec le tranchant d’un couteau, le laver.

_________________________________________________________________________________

Ingrédients pour un jus d’Aloe vera :

1 tronçon de feuille d’Aloe vera, 1 citron, miel selon goût, 1 l d’eau de source.

Prélever uniquement le gel – 2 cuillères à soupe – ajouter le jus de citron, le miel, un peu d’eau, mixer, compléter avec l’eau restante. Mettre en bouteille et boire tout au long de la journée en cure de quelques jours.

Merci la nature !